ART EVENTS IN YOUR AREA

We need to pause updating the Artistically Speaking calendar of events for a few months.  If you would like to have your name or space listed below, email me at office @ caldwellarts.com.  Most places have websites or Facebook/social media presence, so just ‘google’ them to find details. I have listed area websites for places who make art, perform art, or display art for you to check out below.

 

ADULT  ART CLASSES

Artists teaching in Caldwell County: https://www.caldwellarts.com/21-art-classes-and-artist-information/)

Caldwell Senior Center (Lenoir): https://www.caldwellseniorcenter.org

CCC&TI (Hudson): www.cccti.edu

Florence Thomas Art School (West Jefferson): www.florenceartschool.org

Hiddenite Arts & Heritage Center: www.hiddenitearts.org.

Lenoir School of Visual Arts (Margaret Carter Martine, Lenoir): 828-234-0992

Lenoir Parks & Recreation Center: www.cityoflenoir.com/parksrecreation

Lolli-Lus Art Studio (Hudson): http://lollilusstudio.com

New Art School at Newton-Conover Auditorium: http://newton-conoverauditorium.org

Patterson School Foundation (Lenoir): www.pattersonschoolfoundation.org

Red Awning Gallery at HUB Station (Hudson): www.facebook.com/redawning.gallery/

Waitsel Smith (Lenoir): www.Waitsel.com;  404-357-2163

Wine & Design (Hickory): www.wineanddesign.com

 

ART EXHIBITIONS

Ashe Arts Center: www.ashecountyarts.org; 336-846-2787

Avery County Arts:  www.toeriverarts.org

Blowing Rock Art & History Museum:  www.blowingrockmuseum.org

Burke Arts Council:  www.burkearts.org

Caldwell Arts Council: https://www.caldwellarts.com/268-caldwell-arts-council-gallery/

Full Circle Arts: www.fullcirclearts.org

Hickory Museum of Art:  https://hickoryart.org

Hiddenite Arts & Heritage Museum: www.hiddenitearts.org 828-632-6966

New Window Gallery @ Play It Again Records Building in Valdese: 828-874-1800

Rock School Arts Foundation: www.visitvaldese.com

Trade Alley Art: www.tradealleyart.com or www.facebook.com/tradealleyart

Watauga Arts Council:  www.watauga-arts.org

Wilkes Art Gallery: www.wilkesartgallery.org

 

CALLS FOR ARTISTS

Caldwell Arts Council: https://cdarts.co/submissions.

Foothills Folk Art Festival: www.foothillsfolkartfestival.com/artist-information.  

 

COMPETITIONS FOR SCHOOL STUDENTS

Middle School Poetry Recitation Competition (Caldwell county only):  https://cdarts.co/recitation.

High School Shakespeare Monologue Competition (Caldwell & contiguous counties): https://cdarts.co/shakespeare.

 

COMPETITIONS  FOR ADULT ARTISTS

Caldwell Visual Artists Competition: https://www.caldwellarts.com/345-caldwell-visual-artists-competition/

Sculpture Celebration: https://www.caldwellarts.com/369-sculpture-celebration/

 

MUSIC VENUES & MUSICIANS

1841 Café (downtown Lenoir): https://www.facebook.com/1841cafe/

Blue Ridge Music Trails of North Carolina: https://www.facebook.com/blueridgemusictrails

Caldwell JAM (Junior Appalachian Musicians) Program: https://www.caldwellarts.com/174-caldwell-jam-junior-appalachian-musicians-program/

Chapel of Rest (Lenoir) – www.chapelofrest.org

Grind Café Coffeehouse: http://www.thegrind.cafe/

Happy Valley Fiddlers Convention: www.happyvalleyfiddlers.com

Hiddenite Arts & Heritage Center: www.hiddenitearts.org.

James C. Harper School of Music:  www.theharperschool.org

Jones House (Boone) – www.joneshouse.org; 828-268-6282

Kevin Leftwich: https://www.facebook.com/kevin.leftwich.t Liquid Roots (Lenoir) – https://www.facebook.com/liquidrootsbrewing/

Strictly Clean and Decent (Lenoir): www.strictlycleananddecent.com

Tucker’s Barn Singer/Songwriter Series: www.theharperschool.org

 

SUMMER ART CAMPS FOR KIDS

Several art camp offerings are listed at:  https://www.caldwellarts.com/388-summer-camps/

Caldwell Arts Council Art In Motion and Summer JAM – www.caldwellarts.com

CCC&TI Super Summer Camps (Hudson) – www.cccti.edu

Frye Art Studio & Folk Keeper Gallery – on Facebook or call 828-320-7819

Hiddenite Arts & Heritage Center:  www.hiddenitearts.org or 828-632-6966

 

THEATRE

Artists-in-Schools Program (school year): https://www.caldwellarts.com/316-artists-in-schools/

CAST (Granite Falls): www.castonstage.org

Foothills Performing Arts (Lenoir): www.fpatheatre.org

Hickory Community Theatre – www.hickorytheatre.org; 828-328-2283

Hudson Uptown Building – www.townofhudsonnc.com/dinner-theater-page; 828-726-8871

J.E. Broyhill Civic Center:  www.broyhillcenter.com

The Green Room (Newton) – www.thegreenroomtheatre.org; 828-464-6583